Who can see my Trips?
When you create a trip, you choose whether it’s private or public.
Private trips can initially only be seen by you and by our Community Moderators (people who work for Lonely Planet and who ensure the content in Trips meets our User Guidelines). These trips will not show up on your Profile when others view that Profile, nor will they appear in anyone’s Home Feed, nor will they be featured by Lonely Planet. If you wish to make a private trip visible to others, you can share a link to it. To do so, tap on the trip, then tap the “Share” icon and share as you would normally. Your trip will then be visible on the web to anyone who has that link. Keep in mind that the people with whom you share the link could in turn share the link with others who could then also see your trip, so be thoughtful about how and where you choose to share your trip’s link.
Public trips can be seen by anyone using the Trips app. They will appear on your Profile when others view it, and also may appear in the Home Feeds of users who follow you. If Lonely Planet chooses to feature your trip, then the trip could appear in the any of the Featured Interests or as a Featured Post in users’ Home Feeds, including users who do not follow you. Like private trips, public trips have a link that you can share if you wish. Anyone with this link can view your trip on the web.
At any time, you can change the privacy of a trip by going to that trip, tapping the “...” button, and choosing “Post publicly” (to make a private trip public) or “Post privately” to make a public trip private. If you make a private trip public, then it will immediately become public as described above. If you make a public trip private, then it will become private as described above: it will no longer appear in your Profile when viewed by others, it will no longer appear in your followers’ Home Feeds, and it will no longer be featured by Lonely Planet if it was previously. If you shared a link to the trip while it was public, that link will no longer work and will show a “Trip not found” screen when visited; sharing the trip again after you’ve made it private will create a new, private link that works just like the private trip links described above. Please keep in mind that because of the nature of the internet, it’s possible that people may have saved, taken screenshots of, or otherwise created copies of your trip while it was public, and making your trip private will not affect these copies.
Who can see my Profile?
Your Profile is visible to you and to anyone who follows you or who views a trip you’ve created. Everyone who views your Profile can see any profile info you’ve provided (photo, name, bio, location, and/or URL), as well as the list of people whom you follow, the list of people who follow you, and all of your public trips.
When you view your own profile, you can also see your private trips and the trips you’ve liked.
No one viewing your profile can see your email address or other contact information you may have provided us.